The Facebook Photos You Deleted Years Ago Could Still Exist…and Facebook Knows It


theblaze.com

Although you may have thought posting those pictures on Facebook was a good idea in college — or perhaps it wasn’t even you who posted them but a picture-zealous friend — you’ve decided to delete selected images in the hopes that friends, family and employers won’t have any embarrassing photo evidence against you.

Even though your mass deletion happened a few years ago, Ars Technica reports these photos could still exist. Apparently, it takes some time for Facebook to delete deleted photos from its own server. On Friday, Facebook told Ars Technica that it is working on a newer system that will delete deleted photos faster but the older, current system may not have deleted photos immediately as users thought it would.

Ars Technica found this out for the first time in 2009 when it showed that if you had a direct link to previously un-deleted photo, you could still access it. At the time, Facebook told them it was “working with our content delivery network (CDN) partner to significantly reduce the amount of time that backup copies persist.”

Read entire article HERE.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *